About

What’s this all about then?

Samurai Champloo

Samurai Champloo, the best show ever. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m asking myself the same thing.  At this very moment, it is evening, and I’ve been away from work for most of the week with some mysterious illness that may or may not be stress-related. Only these days, this sort of thing happens to everyone.

But that’s not exactly what this is about.

This is more about the fact that, as I lie in bed with my MacBook (yeah, I’m one of those), clutching my teddy bear, I’m listening to “Who’s Theme” by MINMI, which was featured in the anime “Samurai Champloo” and is entirely in Japanese. Oddly enough, I nearly typed “sanime” instead of anime.

Which is what this about. As I gradually lose my grasp on reality and the things that are “supposed” to be important (jobs, money, ambition, tax returns, whatever), my newly-realised obsession with all things Japanese is the only thing keeping me even a little bit sane.

Rather than continuing to bore my friends and family with this…well, here we are.  Me writing about what’s actually important to me.  As I’ve got some stuff going on right now (I direct your attention to previously-mentioned mysterious illness and unspecified-time-off-work), the post schedule will probably be sporadic at best.  Never mind.

I’ll see you when I see you.

Jessica the “faux-taku”

One thought on “About

  1. Pingback: The Japanese Language Journey: How It’s Going So Far « A Fantasy of Far Japan

Leave a Reply

