Post-Heisig Remembering the Kanji 1

kanji written in japanese kanji

Well, I did it.  I have now written 2042 kanji once and learned an English definition-keyword for all of them.

Of course, I was using an old version of Heisig’s Remembering the Kanji vol. 1 to do this.  About halfway in I realised there are actually about 2200 in the book now.  Never mind.

Also I haven’t yet finished SRSing them.  There are about 400 I haven’t properly learnt yet.  There are probably another 500 that I once knew but have forgotten.

Again, never mind.  I’m going to just enjoy this moment for a little bit. *enjoying*

It’s kind of weird – I have trouble believing that this is a big accomplishment, mostly because of the reasons listed above.  But if I actually tell someone what I’ve done (written 2042 kanji) and how long it took me to do it (nearly 4 months of continuous effort), they’re impressed.  A friend of mine is currently learning Brazilian Portuguese and Spanish, and a bit of Italian, and trying to keep up her French.  And she’s impressed (she’s turned off by non-Roman alphabets).

Now it’s time to put them into sentences.  Another 山 to climb. I’d better get started.

2 thoughts on “Post-Heisig Remembering the Kanji 1

Leave a Reply

