Happy New Year (Even if I’m a Little Late)

Well, 2012 is finally over. No more Olympics, no more Diamond Jubilee. I guess we have to find other things to take up our time for the next year. Suits me fine – I was getting a bit bored of all the Union Jack bunting around this place.

Pikachu and Cyndaquil are my buddies.

Pikachu and Cyndaquil are my buddies.

I don’t really do New Years resolutions. I feel like that would be setting myself up for failure. However, given my current circumstances, I really do need to be getting on with things. Remember how I handed in my notice at work? The idea was that I’d have a couple of months to sort myself out another job. Well, it turns out that the breakdown I was trying to avoid happened anyway. Surprise! I’m now signed off on sick leave until the end of the month, at which point my notice period runs out anyway.

So, clearly I need to consider sorting myself out. We can’t be having this again. This is my current list of things I’m doing:

  • Keeping up with Japanese sentence reviews in Anki and adding new ones if I feel up to it
  • Working through Julia Cameron’s The Prosperous Heart, which involves writing in a journal and taking long walks (bliss!)
  • Generally being nicer to myself and cutting back on the self-loathing, to which I have become addicted (this is mightily difficult, but Cyndaquil and Pikachu are helping)
  • Improving my singing voice through self study (this book. It looks cheesy, but it’s what they used at my music university and so far it seems to be working)

As for what I’m going to do next, you know, do next, as in, I’m-an-adult-and-I-do-things-and-the-world-changes-as-a-result, I haven’t got a clue. However, I think that perhaps that’s not so important right now so I’ll just continue to go with ‘the flow’ like the hippy I’ve secretly always wanted to be. I think I’ll go light some incense and listen to sitar music.

Anyway, Happy New Year! If 2013 is nothing else, at least it will be interesting….

2 thoughts on “Happy New Year (Even if I’m a Little Late)

Leave a Reply

