…To Boldly Split Infinitives That No Man Had Split Before

(Title lovingly stolen from Douglas Adams, may he rest in peace.)

I recently had a conversation with locohama about Star Trek films in all their awesomeness (even if you don’t particularly like some of them, put them all together and they average out to be really good).

This reminded me how much I miss Star Trek.  I’m really not letting myself watch films or television in English by myself anymore.  My husband is not doing Japanese immersion, so I watch English Game of Thrones and Lie to Me and The Guild with him (to keep our relationship going – he wants no part of Chobits).  Therefore all of my private viewing time must be in Japanese, no subs.

And there’s no way he’s going to watch Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home with me again.

So I might need to consider *cringe* buying the Star Trek films dubbed in Japanese from Amazon.jp.  So far I haven’t been able to bring myself to pay shipping or risk getting my order held up in customs, especially when I sort of, um, own them all already as Region 1 (US) dvds.  But they are my childhood.  When my high school classmates went to Applebee’s after the basketball game but I couldn’t go because it was after my curfew, I sat in a room alone upstairs and watched Uhura do the naked fan dance so that Kirk and Spock could steal the horses.

Luckily, there is this one thing.  I have scoured the darker portions of the internet for access to Star Trek in Japanese and was able to find a few episodes on The Next Generation on YouTube.  So this will have to tide me over.  Go take a look, but not everybody all at once or the authorities might find out!  Just…fly casual.

One thought on “…To Boldly Split Infinitives That No Man Had Split Before

  1. Pingback: Friday Frolic – I Take Spock to the Movies! =) | shanjeniah

Leave a Reply

