Ryusenkei – A Bit of Everything (That Was Great About the 1970s)

The best thing about listening only to music in Japanese is that I’m forced to keep discovering new bands.  Let me introduce you to my latest amazing find.

I was digging around on SoundCloud one day and I found this track:

I was instantly a fan and had to find out more about the original song.  That was how I found Ryusenkei (流線形).

I love 70s music.  I grew up on Steely Dan and The Bee Gees and Donna Summer, but I haven’t been able to find anything like that in Japanese. I guess, like in the West, you’re lucky if the old stuff makes it onto CD – forget about legal downloads. And I simply don’t do expensive CD imports.

So this band was like my salvation, because they are pretty recent. I bought two of their albums (Tokyo Sniper and City Music) from iTunes, and another (Natural Woman – 2009, I think it’s their latest) from Amazon downloads.

So they sound like the 1970s, and they have absolutely done this on purpose. Do you know Georgy Porgy by Toto?  If so, have a listen to this and see if it doesn’t sound familiar:

They do stuff like that all of the time.  I love it.  I’m pretty much obsessed with them right now.  I’m not sure three albums was enough, I might need to find more.  🙂

Meanwhile, here is their Facebook page, if you’d like to show them some love.  (They mostly post YouTube videos of the music they are so obviously influenced by.)

Leave a Reply

