Japanese Lessons Work For Me

Hello!  Jessica here.

I haven’t been blogging much recently.  I think I must have finally hit life-saturation point.  I’m now doing so many things that some of them are starting to slip.  I’m in the process of going back to work/looking for a job.  Also, I’m learning how to drive in the UK (manual transmission + left side of the road + roundabouts = TERROR!! PANIC!! MAYHEM!!!).  So, not much being said here recently.

However, I am still taking Japanese lessons.  To be honest, I kept going back and forth about them for a while.  Are they too expensive?  Am I really learning as much as I think I am?  Have I actually gone over to the dark side, given that I started this whole Japanese thing the Khatzumoto, All Japanese All The Time way?

Maybe I’ll change my mind later, but for now I think lessons are great for me.  I’m learning grammar and being introduced to new vocabulary.  I know that a textbook is not the be-all, end-all of language, but now when I go back to look at “real” Japanese on the internet, MUCH more of it makes sense.  I no longer need to look up the reading for every single kanji.  I’m not getting so overwhelmed with it, and that lets me spend more time with it.

So for me, I think the current solution is to keep taking lessons, but also keep exposing myself to non-polite, anime, and Twitter Japanese.  Right now I’m mining sentences like crazy from this Twitter account.  (I think it’s supposed to be for Japanese people learning English.)

One thought on “Japanese Lessons Work For Me

  1. Hi Jessica!

    Sam from italki here. Just wanted to give you a little bit of encouragement. I’m learning chinese and i’ve struggled with the same issues. (I also pay a teacher on the site.) I think the best way to utilize a teacher (Depending on price) is to practice and study material before hand and then have that teacher tweak it for you so that you sound native. Also they are able to instantly answer any questions you have that will come up. There are tons of materials that you can use on your own time to study and learn as well. So make sure you’re utilizing as many free resources as possible to supplement your learning. The great thing about teachers are that you can get instant feedback about what you’re doing right and what you’re doing wrong.

    Don’t give up! It doesn’t matter how slow you go, as long as you keep going!

    🙂 You’re doing great, keep it up.

Leave a Reply

